Home   /  About CAAHEP   /   Commissioners and Sponsoring Organizations

Commissioners and Sponsoring Organizations

The Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP) is comprised of both a Commission and a Board of Directors (BoD). The BoD is elected from the Commission.

Commissioners are responsible for approving the bylaws, mission, and vision statements of CAAHEP. Additionally, Commissioners determine which health sciences professions are eligible for participation in CAAHEP. Commissioners elect the Board of Directors and help CAAHEP to identify important issues and trends in accreditation and healthcare.

The following is a current listing of CAAHEP’s sponsoring and member organizations. Included within this list are the Commissioners who represent each organization. Direct links to our sponsoring organizations' websites are provided, where available, by clicking on the organizations' names. 

Accreditation Review Committee for Anesthesiologist Assistant

John Kimbell
Jennifer Anderson Warwick (alternate)

American Academy of Neurology

George (Trey) Lee, III

American Association of Medical Assistants

Donald Balasa
Sarah Marino (alternate)

American Board of Cardiovascular Perfusion

Ann Guercio
David Boyne (alternate)

American College of Surgeons

Constantine Godellas

American Council on Exercise

Graham Melstrand

American Kinesiotherapy Association

Melissa Fuller Ziegler

American Red Cross

David Markenson

American Society of Neurophysiological Monitoring

Barbara Tetzlaff
Joshua Mergos (alternate)

Association of Schools Advancing Health Professions

Barry Eckert,
Gregory Frazer,
Julie O'Sullivan Maillet,
David Shelledy,
Yasmen Simonian

Cytotechnology Programs Review Committee

Kalyani Naik
Karen Atkison, Alternate

Hospital-Based Programs

Glen Mayhew,
Richard Palma,
Thomas Platt

National Network of Health Career Programs in Two-Year Colleges

Teddy Farias,
Caroline Hammond,
Don Martin,
Stacey Ocander, 
Diane Roose

Proprietary Institutions

Katherine Benz-Campbell

Public Members

Sherlynn Howard Hall
Fred Lenhoff

Recent Graduate

Kevin M. Sloss

Society for Vascular Ultrasound

Jennifer VanderPoel

Society of Thoracic Surgeons

Thomas E. MacGillivray

Vocational Technical Education

Michael O’Donnell